Make Your China Trip Easier


Login form protected by Login LockDown.

You must be logged in to post Login Register

Register? | Lost Your Password?

Search Forums:


Wildcard Usage:
*    matches any number of characters
%    matches exactly one character

Guangzhou allows 72-hour visa-free visits


3:57 pm
June 10, 2013



posts 215

Following Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou is the third city in mainland China to allow foreigners to enter for 72 hours without a visa.

This policy will remarkably boost inbound tourism in Guangdong province and the local economy and consumption. Since 2013 Jan 1st, global travelers from 45 countries have been benefiting from 72-hour visa-free stays in Beijing and Shanghai, Currently, upon arrival  at the Beijing Capital International Airport and Shanghai’s Hongqiao and Pudong airports., travelers holding third country visas and plane tickets are allowed to apply for a transit without visa.

Foreign visitors are not permitted to leave the cities to travel to other Chinese cities during the72 hours, and have to depart from the two cities.

Starting this June, tourists would be able to travel to sites around the Pearl River Delta region via Guangzhou Baiyun airport within those 72 hours.

Since the policy was introduced in January, Shanghai has registered more than 1,000 foreign passengers transiting from its Hongqiao and Pudong airports without visas, sources with the local immigration control authorities said.

The number of inbound tourists to Beijing is expected to increase to 10 million passengers within the next three years, as a result of the policy, said Beijing Municipal Commission of Tourism Development.

Who will benefit from the 72-hour visa-free stay policy?

The move will bring much convenience to both tourist and businessman, who frequently flies to China or Asia, as getting a China visa can normally take up to two weeks. Well known as the south gate of China, this policy may also enhance the standing of Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport as an international air hub. We can anticipate that the policy will bring more inbound visitors to Guangzhou in upcoming days, especially from Southeast Asia countries less than 4 hours flight.

Travelers from what countries may apply for the 72-hour transit visa exemption?

Travelers from the 45 countries may apply for the 72-hour transit visa exemption, which are:

1) 24 Schengen countries in Europe: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherland, Poland, Portugal, Slovak, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

2) 7 other European countries: Russia, Great Britain, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania and Ukraine.

3) 6 American countries: The United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Chile.

4) 2 Oceanian countries: Australia and New Zealand.

5) 6 Asian countries: Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, and Qatar.


Most Users Ever Online: 77

Currently Online:
1 Guest

Currently Browsing this Topic:
1 Guest

Forum Stats:

Groups: 3
Forums: 11
Topics: 228
Posts: 228


There are 469 Members

There is 1 Admin

Top Posters:

Panda – 13

Administrators: admin (215 Posts)


Comments are closed.